The Gibson Island Historical Society was established in 1969 by a group of Islanders who were concerned that the memorabilia and artifacts of this unique community would be lost without a proper place to house them. Its home is the Salty Marks House, itself a relic, at the far western end of Skippers Row, opposite the Boat Works Yacht Yard.
The Society’s primary focus is to present the Island community in all its aspects, the Gibson Island Club, the Yacht Squadron, and the Gibson Island Corporation as established by the Symington family in 1921. Yet its collections go back to pre-historic times and the habitation of the Island before the 20th century. In addition to housing collections from all Island events and periods, the Society annually sponsors historical programs for its members and friends, and archaeological research into the Island’s historical mysteries.
The Society holds a monthly open house. Appointments for any other time can be made by contacting a Society Trustee through the Corporation Office 410-255-1414.
The Society is governed and operated by member volunteers. It is incorporated under Maryland law, and under federal law its status is that of an IRS Article 501(c)(3) Corporation. The Society membership funds its maintenance responsibilities, the buildings and grounds of the Salty Marks House and the Symington Monument, as well as our historical programming, archaeological research, and the Misael Flores Memorial Scholaship Fund. Membership information and application forms are available from the Corporation Office....or simply click on the "Join or Donate" button at the top of this page.
This beautiful island has not been preserved for us by accident but by the thoughtfulness, hard labor, struggles, and compromises of many generations. We can learn from this history and, hopefully, Gibson Island will remain a very special place for generations to enjoy much as we do today.